Crawdaddy

Road Bikes, Dual Sport Bikes, and blues/beers

The Hwy 66 trip report/video that SDLand posted yesterday inspired me to resurrect what used to be an annual tradition of mine - A trip to Mammoth Lakes each August to attend the Annual Festival of Beers and Bluesapalooza AND ride a scenic loop through the Sierra's on my road bike. (Jonny Lang is headlining the Bluesfest this year which makes it even more inviting :D ) Many of you guys have recently picked up road bikes, or already own road bikes, and I thought you might enjoy this loop……it’s one of my favorite road rides.....I've been riding these Sierra traverses for almost ~30 years....

The annual tradition/right of passage started back in 1996 when I stumbled upon the 2nd annual Festival of Beers and Bluesapalooza by pure coincidence (I just happened to be riding my motorcycle through Mammoth on my way up to Tahoe that weekend). Then I led/met a group of riders at the Bluesapalooza for about ~8(?) years in a row before eventually moving on to other things…..time to revisit the event again......especially since Johnny Lang is head lining the event :D )

The usual routine in years past was to stay at the Alpenhof Friday/Sat. night since it's within walking distance from event, great breakfasts, and right on the way out of town on the Mammoth Scenic Loop.....I would generally attend the Friday night Bluesfest, blow-off the Beer tasting during the day on Saturday so I can ride what I call "The Mammoth Scenic Loop", then attend the Bluesfest in the evening.....(alternate/more ecomonical lodging plan is to camp at the New Shady Grove Campground....see details below)

There have been several variations throughout the years, but Crawdaddy's time tested/preferred "Scenic Mammoth (road bike) Loop" is:

Mammoth Scenic Loop to 395

395 north to 120

120 west through Yosemite to Cherry Lake Rd.

Cherry Lake Rd. to Cottonwood Rd.

Cottonwood Rd. to 108E

108E back to 395

395 back to Mammoth